

#### G/SG/N/10/IDN/21/Suppl.1 G/SG/N/11/IDN/21

6 November 2019

Original: English

(19-7552) Page: 1/3

**Committee on Safeguards** 

# NOTIFICATION UNDER ARTICLE 12.1(C) OF THE AGREEMENT ON SAFEGUARDS

# NOTIFICATION PURSUANT TO ARTICLE 9, FOOTNOTE 2 OF THE AGREEMENT ON SAFEGUARDS

INDONESIA

(Aluminum Foil)

The following communication, dated 6 November 2019, is being circulated at the request of the Delegation of Indonesia.

Pursuant to Article 12.1(c) of the WTO Agreement on Safeguards, the Government of the Republic of Indonesia hereby notifies the issuance of Minister of Finance's Regulation Number 153/PMK.010/2019 dated 24 October 2019, promulgated in the Official Gazette of the Republic of Indonesia Number 1322 on24 October 2019 regarding the imposition of a safeguard measure on the importation of Aluminium Foil, for a period of 2 (two) years started on 6 November 2019.

## 1 GENERAL BACKGROUND

On 5 February 2019 The Republic of Indonesia notified the findings of safeguard investigation in which it was concluded that there was an evidence that the increased of volume of imports have caused serious injury to the domestic industry concerned in this investigation (G/SG/N/8/IDN/21-G/SG/N/10/IDN/21).

It was also indicated in the notification that the Investigating Authority was proposing to the Government of the Republic of Indonesia the imposition of a safeguard measure on the importation of the subject goods.

## **2 DESCRIPTION OF THE SUBJECT GOODS**

The description of the subject goods are as follows:

"Aluminium foil (not printed or not backed with paper, paperboard, plastics or similar backing materials) with a thickness not exceeding 0.2 mm, rolled but not further worked, with aluminum content more than or equal to 97.5% according to its weight", under Harmonized System (HS.) Code: Ex. 7607.11.00".

#### **3 DESCRIPTION OF THE MEASURE**

a. The Government of the Republic of Indonesia has decided to impose the following safeguard duty:

#### **TIMETABLE OF THE SAFEGUARD DUTY**

Period	Safeguard Duty
First year (7 November 2019 – 6 November 2020)	6%
Second year (7 November 2020 – 6 November 2021)	4%

b. Below is the list of developing countries excluded from the said safeguard measure, and the Government of the Republic of Indonesia reserves the right to modify this list in light of changing import volumes.

# LIST OF DEVELOPING COUNTRIES EXCLUDED FROM THE MEASURES

No.	Countries	No.	Countries
1	Afghanistan	52	Jamaica
2	Albania	53	Jordan
3	Angola	54	Kazakhstan
4	Antigua and Barbuda	55	Kenya
5	Argentina	56	Kuwait, the State of
6	Armenia	57	Kyrgyz Republic
7	Bahrain, Kingdom of	58	Lao People's Democratic Republic
8	Bangladesh	59	Lesotho
9	Barbados	60	Liberia
10	Belize	61	Liechtenstein
11	Benin	62	Macao, China
12	Bolivia, Plurinational State of	63	Madagascar
13	Botswana	64	Malawi
14	Brazil	65	Malaysia
15	Brunei Darussalam	66	Maldives
16	Burkina Faso	67	Mali
17	Burundi	68	Mauritania
18	Cabo Verde	69	Mauritius
19	Cambodia	70	Mexico
20	Cameroon	71	Moldova, Republic of
21	Central African Republic	72	Mongolia
22	Chad	73	Montenegro
23	Chile	74	Morocco
24	Colombia	75	Mozambique
25	Congo	76	Myanmar
26	Costa Rica	77	Namibia
27	Côte d'Ivoire	78	Nepal
28	Cuba	79	Nicaragua
29	Democratic Republic of the Congo	80	Niger
30	Djibouti	81	Nigeria
31	Dominica	82	Oman
32	Dominican Republic	83	Pakistan
33	Ecuador	84	Panama
34	Egypt	85	Papua New Guinea
35	El Salvador	86	Paraguay
36	Eswatini	87	Peru
37	Fiji	88	Philippines
38	Gabon	89	Qatar
39	Gambia	90	Russian Federation
40	Georgia	91	Rwanda
41	Ghana	92	Saint Kitts and Nevis
42	Grenada	93	Saint Lucia
43	Guatemala		Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
44	Guinea	95	Samoa
45	Guinea-Bissau	96	Saudi Arabia, Kingdom of
46	Guyana	97	Senegal
47	Haiti	98	Seychelles
48	Honduras	99	Sierra Leone
49	Hong Kong, China	100	Singapore
50	India	101	Solomon Islands
51	Israel	102	South Africa
JΙ	131461	102	South Allica

No.	Countries	No.	Countries
103	Sri Lanka	114	Turkey
104	Suriname	115	Uganda
105	Chinese Taipei	116	Ukraine
106	Tajikistan	117	United Arab Emirates
107	Tanzania	118	Uruguay
108	Thailand	119	Vanuatu
109	The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM)	120	Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of
110	Togo	121	Viet Nam
111	Tonga	122	Yemen
112	Trinidad and Tobago	123	Zambia
113	Tunisia	124	Zimbabwe

It is requested that this notification under Article 12.1(c) of the WTO Agreement on Safeguards be brought to the notice of Members.